Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Notable omissions (For whatever reason, I didn’t see these and they may have altered the list): The Artist, Tinker Taylor Soldier Spy, Hugo, Take Shelter, Rango

Honorable Mention: Scream 4 (Suck it, Eddie), Thor, Fright Night, Contagion, The Ides of March

10. X-Men: First Class

The best superhero movie since The Dark Knight. #truth. There were some annoyances throughout, but overall it was pretty fantastic. Major props go to Matthew Vaughn for expertly limiting January Jones.

9. Water For Elephants

Haters gon’ hate, but this is as solid as sappy romance movies come. I find myself having to defend this movie mostly to people who haven’t even seen it. Do yourself a favor and give it a gander. Once you get past R-Patt’s hair, you’re in for a real treat. LOLZ!

8. Moneyball

If Brat Pitt doesn’t win the Academy Award for Best Actor, I riot. Extremely disliked the little girl’s song/final scene, that’s why this isn’t much higher.

7. Warrior

I actually disliked this movie the first time I saw it. It took a 2nd viewing for me to get it. It’s incredible. The fact that it is an MMA movie is inconsequential, its just a great story with some of the year’s best acting.

Nick Nolte: Do somin’

6. Shame

Certainly not the “feel good” movie of the year, but this baby surely made an impact. Absolutely incredible, award-worthy, performances from Fassbender (dude is PACKIN’) and Mulligan (who also quite ample and curiously groomed) make this movie oh’ so heart-wrenching and, more importantly, engaging.

5. The Descendants

The Cloons swings and hits another home run. Matthew Lillard is in this movie for less than 10 minutes and damn near steals the whole f’n show. Way to go, Shaggy!

“I’m bangin’ Stacy Keibler, and you’re not”

4. The Muppets

If you didn’t love this movie, you hate life. No middle-of-the-road on this one.

3. Source Code

My massive man-crush on Jake Gyllehaal hit unprecedented highs throughout and following Source Code. He’s so great you often forget there is anyone else in the movie. So thought-provoking, me brain was racked for days!


^Favorite scene from any 2011 film^

2. Midnight In Paris

I’ve never been much of a Woodey Allen fan, but was taken by this movie. Everything about it worked perfectly. I see… a rhinoceros!

1. Drive

If you’ve seen it, you know I don’t need to justify having it as #1.

